Being Able to Homeschool is a Favor from Allah

These last couple of weeks we took a trip to visit a friend whose husband recently passed away. Inna lillahi wa inna ilaihi raji’oon. Verily to Allah we belong and to Him we will return.

Like me she has 3 very young kids, and she has been a homemaker eversince her first child was born. But now Mommy has to be Daddy too and insha-Allah she will begin her new job soon. Her younger kids will be sent to a Muslim runned daycare while the oldest one will enter an Islamic school bi ithnillah. May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala make it easy for her and her family. Ameen.

Looking at her situation made me realize the great favor that Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala has blessed me with, and which I have taken for granted all these years…that He has given me a husband who is healthy and fit and is able to provide for us so that I can be a full-time mom and homeschool my kids.

You know homeschooling in itself can be trying at times and one of the most hardest experience I’ve had was to homeschool and attend to a nursing baby at the same time. Alhamdulillah, my son is fully weaned now and those days seem far away, yet when I really think about it, if given a choice I would willingly go through that all over again rather than go out and work. Yes, it’s true that just the mere thought of not being able to be home with my kids is enough to make me feel all queasy inside!

And Alhamdulillah, I am so grateful that I do have a choice and I chose to be a stay at home Mom. What I really need to understand is that if Allah wills, it could easily be that I do not have a choice but to work. O Allah please help me to remember this and be grateful to you for your favors. Ameen.

Sometime ago I remember reading a very beautiful piece of naseeha from Tea & A Think:

“As one du`aa goes (received by email one day):

Allah, I thank Thee for this sink of dirty dishes… we have plenty of food to eat.

I thank Thee for this pile of dirty, stinky, laundry… we have plenty of nice clothes to wear.

And I would like to thank Thee, for those unmade beds in there. They were so comfortable last night. I know many have no bed.

My thanks to Thee, Allah, for this bathroom, complete with all the splattered mirrors, soggy, grimy towels and dirty lavatory… they are so convenient.

I thank Thee for this finger-smudged refrigerator that needs defrosting so badly. It has served us faithfully for many years. It is full of cold drinks and enough leftovers for two or three meals.

I thank Thee Allah, for this oven that absolutely must be cleaned today… it has baked so many things over the years.

The whole family is grateful for all that tall grass that needs mowing, the lawn that needs raking… we all enjoy the yard.

I thank Thee Allah, even for that slamming screen door. My kids are healthy and able to run and play.

Alhamdulillah.

Allah, the presence of all these chores awaiting me says Thou has richly blessed my family. I shall do them all cheerfully and I shall do them gratefully, In sha Allah.”

Even though the du’a is specifically about being thankful to Allah for having household chores (which I do not particularly look forward to) and looking at them from a different angle and actually appreciating them, I think we can change it to accomodate any circumstance in our lives…

In my case for example;

O Allah I thank you for all the whining and squabbling from my kids that I hear on a daily basis…alhamdulillah I have kids and am able to be home with them and enjoy their company.

O Allah I thank you for all the trials and tests I’ve had to deal with in homeschooling…alhamdulillah my kids do not have to attend public school.

O Allah I thank you for all the times I wish my husband wasn’t so busy with his work and studies so he would have more time to spend with us…alhamdulillah we have enough money so that I do not have to go out and share the burden of providing for the family.

Shukoor Alhamdulillah. All praise and thanks be to the Lord of all the Worlds.

13 Responses to “Being Able to Homeschool is a Favor from Allah”


  1. 1 Mayram UmmIsa August 5, 2008 at 10:38 pm

    Assalam aleykum sister

    SubhanAllah, you are so much right. My husband is fit and healthy, too, Alhamdulillah, but even though I have to help him to support the family (6 people inshaAllah), we don’t have choice at the moment. Every time I go out home I cry out my eyes thinking of my 2 months baby at home left without mother, thinking of my grave punishment because I have to cut her breastmilk. It hurts so much…
    In this case I have got nothing more than to ask for forgiveness from Almighty and hope for mercy. SubhanAllah, I am thinking of those “muslimahs” who send their kids to public schools just because homeschooling is so much hassle.

    May Allah guide us to the right Path and help us to be stable in our eeman.

    Wassalam Aleykum

  2. 2 raisingmuslims August 6, 2008 at 11:49 pm

    Wa’alaikum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Umm Isa,

    SubhanAllah, my heart goes out to you when I read abt yr current situation. To an extent I can emphatize with you because when I had my first baby I still had to work part-time due to our financial situation at the time but alhmadulillah I was able to be a full-time mom when my baby was 6 months old. I still remember running up the stairs to our apt when I came back from work, rushing to see my baby. 🙂

    You know sister, Allah is All-Knowing and knows the intention in our hearts. I remember learning a hadeeth in which if a person is truly sincere in what he wants to do, for eg. a poor person who wishes he was rich just so he can donate his wealth to charity will be rewarded just on the basis of his pure intention. Masha-Allah!

    May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala reward you for yr intention to be home with yr kids and to nurse yr baby. Ameen.

    Also, you know for the woman whatever we earn really belongs to us and if we use that to help our family then it’ll be considered as sadaqah/charity on our part. So insha-Allah you will be rewarded for yr efforts.

    May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala bless your family with enough rizq/provisions to enable you to be a stay-at-home-mom. Ameen.

    Love,
    Umm Hassan

  3. 3 Umm Mahdi August 9, 2008 at 1:06 am

    Salam sis
    I liked the dua/poem you posted. Never looked at household chores that way :). Alhamdullilah, it gives me new insight – there’s hikmah in everything we do masya Allah.

  4. 4 raisingmuslims August 9, 2008 at 1:28 pm

    Wa’alaikum salam Umm Mahdi 🙂

    Yes, I like it too! Don’t know who wrote it but may Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala reward her well. Ameen.

    Love,
    Umm Hassan

  5. 5 ummraiyaan August 9, 2008 at 5:11 pm

    Assalamu Alaikum Sis,

    Love this post. MashaAllah. Would you mind if I post a link of this post on my blog… http://www.ummihomeschoolsme.wordpress.com and http://hijrahtoalgeriafeesabillillah.wordpress.com/

    Jzk and may Allah constantly remind us to be grateful to Him for ALL that He mercifully bestows us with. Ameen.

    Wasalaam,
    Umm Raiyaan

  6. 6 raisingmuslims August 11, 2008 at 12:43 am

    Wa’alaikum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Umm Raiyaan,

    Of course I wouldn’t mind! 🙂 Alhamdulillah I’m glad you found some benefit from this post.

    I read yr latest post from yr hijrah blog and there was a beautiful naseeha that I just have to add to my “Fortress of Reminders” category. Hope it’s Ok to link to yr blog?

    Umm Hassan

  7. 7 ummraiyaan August 11, 2008 at 7:48 am

    Salaam,

    yup no probs iA. Glad it was of benefit iA. Have we ever met sis?

    Umm Raiyaan

  8. 8 raisingmuslims August 12, 2008 at 9:48 pm

    Wa’alaikum salam Umm Raiyaan,

    In person, no…but alhamdulillah it’s nice “meeting” you online!

  9. 9 Umm Bilal September 3, 2009 at 2:18 am

    jazak Allah sis for posting this poem. u made me cry girl! lately i was in bad moods coz. of so many house hold chorse and then taking care of the lil ones and on top no help from hubby as he’s busy at work almost all day long.
    but now…..alhumdulillah ya rub. indeed man is very ungratful. May Allah subhantallah makes us steadfast in deen and make us of the ones who give thanks. Jazak ALlah khairun sis. May ALlah highly reward u for all ur efforts at home and for the help u r offering to others online. May Allah subhan wa tallah makes it easy for all of us. Ameen

  10. 10 Lordsfavor March 4, 2010 at 6:45 am

    Asalamaliakum,
    I am so new to the blog duniya. I have 3 kids in the public school system and constantly struggle with the decision to homeschool or not. Please make dua for me. You are so right- homeschooling is a favor from Allah- in all the ways you mentioned and also because Allah has given you the wisdom to make that choice and the strength to go through with.
    May Allah bless your efforts

  11. 11 Ummi Teacher2B May 14, 2012 at 12:58 pm

    Assalamu’alaikum sister,

    You have just inspired me today! Jazakillah khairan katsiran.
    May I link your post in my blog? Thank you in advance.

    • 12 raisingmuslims May 15, 2012 at 3:34 am

      Wa’alaikum salam Ummi Teacher 2B,

      Wa iyyaki! Thanks for dropping by and yes sure you may link this post to yr blog.

  12. 13 Umm Islam September 12, 2012 at 7:39 am

    Assalamu Aleikum Warahmatullah Ukhtee,

    I found your blog just tonight. subhanAllah when I needed this article the most. BarakAllahu feeki.
    I felt not so sure about my capability as home school-er mom, though I started many many years ago. I was searching the net for some encouragement that what we do is the best thing.
    Allah Akbar! I found it in this reminder with a bonus beautiful du’a.
    Alhamdulillah, alhamdulillah and again, alhamdulillah.

    JazaakAllah Kheir!

    Umm Islam


Leave a comment




August 2008
M T W T F S S
 123
45678910
11121314151617
18192021222324
25262728293031

Stat Counter

hidden hit counter