We love lapbooks!

When we started out, I kept coming across the word “lapbook” on homeschooling websites and homeschooling blogs, like it was the latest “in” word and the hippest thing to do in homeschoolingdom!

“What a funny-sounding name!” …was my initial reaction. And when I actually saw a lapbook, it was met with skeptism, “What’s so special about this strange looking book that has almost every homeschooling mom raving about?”

Well, being human and not wanting to be left out (sheepish smile), I decided we should give it a try. After some research, we made our very first lapbook on Butterflies, some 2 years ago, when Asmaa was 5.

 

Alhamdulillah we learnt alot from this project; including the butterfly life cyle, interesting facts about butterflies and insects, differences between butterflies and moths, symmetrical/non-symmetrical shapes and some useful vocab. And of course from then on you could say we were hooked!

As a natural progression our next lapbook was on insects;

And by the Will of Allah, it turned out that Hands of a Child was giving away a free Project Pack on Bees at that time and me being the frugal homeschooler, grabbed the offer. (smiles) And so that was to be our next project… 

HOAC’s project packs are really convenient (though a bit too expensive for my liking), and if you’re new at lapbooking I highly recommend that you get hold of their quarterly freebies to get an idea of how go about making your mini-books for your lapbooks.

Currclick is another good site that offers weekly freebies and from time to time they do give away project packs, so keep a look out for those too. As a matter of fact, their current free offering is a Unit Study on Butterflies. This unit is loaded with useful resources for different age groups and you can use the ideas for your lapbook too, so don’t pass up this offer!

Amongst some of the lapbooks that we’ve done include, “Seeds and Plants”, “Spiders”, “Ramadhan”, “The Water Cycle” and one that we’re working on currently; on Salah.

Insha-Allah I plan to cover some of the lapbooks that we’ve done in greater detail, including more pics so do drop by often!

7 Responses to “We love lapbooks!”


  1. 1 Farhana July 20, 2008 at 3:44 am

    As-salaamu’alaykum wa Rahmatu Llahi wa Barakatuhu my dearest sister,

    I love your blog, tabarak’Allah.

    Yes.. aren’t lapbooks fun! They some how turning learning something into fun.

    Jazaki’Allahu khair for sharing some of the ones you’ve done, I’d be very interested in knowing how the others went, so insha’Allah I can do some with my nephew.

    Look forward to visiting you often, insha’Allah.

    Wa’alaykum as-salaam
    Love Farhana

  2. 2 raisingmuslims August 5, 2008 at 11:18 am

    Wa’alaikum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh sis Farhana,

    Masha-Allah, thanks for yr kind words and for visiting!

    With Ramadhan coming up, I plan to do a more detailed post on our Ramadhan lapbook insha-Allah.

    Masha-Allah you have a really cool blog and I see that you’re one active Muslimah!

    May Allah subhanahu wa ta’ala accept our efforts. Ameen.

  3. 3 umm_abdulbasir August 23, 2008 at 3:03 am

    As Salaamu Alaykum wa Rahmahtuallahi wa Barakatuh,
    Ukhti, Once again you have amazed me! I love all your works on the lapbooks! We’re hooked (*smile*) One question…Would you be willing to send me the file for honeybees and insects if you have them? My son (he’s 3) absolutely loves bees,ants, butterflies…well lets just say he loves Insects and would very much appreciate these as lapbooks for himself to refer back to 1 million times! lol
    Thanks for sharing!

  4. 4 raisingmuslims August 26, 2008 at 11:13 am

    Wa’alaikum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Umm Abdul Basir,

    You’ve got mail! *smile*

  5. 5 Nor September 8, 2008 at 7:16 am

    As Salaamu Alaykum wa Rahmahtuallahi wa Barakatuh

    We love lapbook too!Thanks for sharing.
    Are you from Malaysia?I can read rama-rama at your butterflies lapbook.*smile*
    Ermm..can i ask for the files too?My son is extremely in love with insects.Thanks in advance.
    ps: i’m going to be your loyal visitor from now. LOL

    nor-mommy2H

  6. 6 raisingmuslims October 11, 2008 at 9:14 pm

    Wa’alaikum salam wa rahmatullahi wa barakatuh Sis Nor,

    Sorry for the long overdue reply! Masha-Allah I love yr website. 🙂 I’ll email you soon insha-Allah.

  7. 7 ummelbanat October 21, 2008 at 8:11 am

    Asalam alikom sister
    Masha Allah the lapbooks are really nice….I have the bee pack from HOAC…& insha Allah I’m planning to make this week with my DD…I love the idea that u included Ayat from surat EL Nahl….can you plz tell me where you got those from….
    I would like to include the Ayas in our lapbook in hsa Allah
    thanks sister


Leave a comment